Lynne Ackerberg

2015 Harold B Allen Award winner Lynne AckerbergCongratulations to the 2015 Harold B. Allen Award Recipient!

Lynne Ackerberg is a longtime contributor to the ESL teaching community in Minnesota. She is an adjunct ESL instructor at the University of Minnesota where she also served as director of the Minnesota English Center for nine years. Lynne is a graduate of the M.A. in ESL program at the University of Minnesota. She worked at Macalester College as the foreign student program coordinator and as a teacher educator in the TEFL certificate program at Hamline University. A mentor to many of the ESL teachers in the area, Lynne has presented frequently at professional conferences, including MinneTESOL and MELEd, and has conducted numerous workshops for teachers and other professionals. With grants from the National Association of Foreign Student Advisors Advisors and from Macalester College, she produced instructional videos, “Meeting Somewhere in the Middle: Conversations with Rajeev,” about cross-cultural adjustment and “Building Bridges to Friendship,” about cross-cultural friendship and has been a strong advocate for ESL and immigrant students.

Harold B Allen Award

Harold B. Allen, a professor from the University of Minnesota and noted linguist, was the founder and first president of TESOL in 1966.  Among his many achievements, he was an internationally recognized expert on regional dialects of the U.S., and he authored the Linguistic Atlas of the Upper Midwest.

MinneTESOL celebrates this connection by honoring a member of our local affiliate each year who has demonstrated particular dedication to the profession and to the organization.

Past recipients of the Harold B. Allen Award include:

2014, Jackie Smith, Robbinsdale School District

2013, Ann Mabbot, Hamline University & Patsy Vinogradov, ATLAS/Hamline University

2012, Rosemary Sharkey, Dakota Prairie Adult Basic Education

2011- Debbie Hadas, Apple Valley High, Deirdre Bird Kramer & Bonnie Swierzbin, Hamline University

2010- Ellen Lewin, MCTC

2009- Eric Nelson, U of M MELP

2008- Colleen Meyers, U of M ITA program

2007- Jenise Rowekamp, U of M & Betsy Parrish, Hamline University

2006- Diane Pecoraro, retired, MN Dept of Education

2005- Robin Murie, U of M General College

2004- Mike Anderson, MELP

2003- Adele Hansen, MEC

2002 – Nina Mosser, St. Paul Public Schools


2010 Harold B. Allen Award winner Ellen Lewin, with Laura Funke, Past-President

2010 Harold B. Allen Award winner Ellen Lewin, with Laura Funke, Past-President